Hey blogosphere! Did you miss me?

Hey guys!
Sorry that I have been missing in action for a few months but have no fear! I am back and ready to rock your blogging world.

This week I want to take a closer look at a blog I visit nearly every day. I have been looking at pinstripe alley for as long as I can remember! It is hands down my favorite blog but really you don’t critique something until you realize you need to.
There are many things I love about the site. I really like that there is a separate tab for fan posts only and it is clear that just anyone can post on it. I think you play it safe that way anyone says something offensive (which happens quite often.) I like how the layout is very unlike an actual blog. They have tabs for a roster, schedule, statistics and even tickets! I don’t think that is something you normally find on a blog but when you have a blog that is as popular as pinstripe alley, the possibilities are endless.

Now, this might get a little confusing because I am going to completely contradict myself, I really dislike the organization at the same time. What I would like to see, in a blog as big as this, is a separation of categories. They could do so much with that, for instance, they could organize by games, players, past players, statistics and with such a broad range of blogs that come through they could honestly do several other categories. When you have such a loyal readership, I think it would be a lot easier to navigate through the blog if they started separating the blogs by categories.

I really try to model my web writing after the kind I find on their website. I like to say it is somewhere in between a news article and a personal blog post. Let me expand, their writing is not too informal but at the same time I can imagine a guy in a pinstripe jersey yelling at a TV screen in the same manner he speaks in his posts, which is what I think makes the best writers. If you can convey a message but still give your reader some idea of who you are in your message then I think you are a great writer.

See ya next time and GO YANKS!

P.S.- Hallelujah we won tonight! How ’bout Grandy-man?? Who thinks we will get back up on the O’s? I do!

Leave a Reply

